Circle for Indigenous Education

The Circle for Indigenous Education at Cambrian College was formed to provide strategic direction, leadership and advice with regards to Indigenous- specific programming and ensuring students obtain and the utmost Cambrian College experience.

The Circle for Indigenous Education is made up of 11 members and 3 support members. These members represent a broad and diverse cross-section of the community. It includes Wabnode staff, Indigenous students, board members, Indigenous community members and College staff.

Circle for Indigenous Education Membership – 2019/20
Current Membership Position/Organization RepresentationTerm
Shannon AgowissaAboriginal Liaison Officer, Greater Sudbury Police ServiceEconomic Development/Services2018 – 2024
Bill BestPresident, Cambrian CollegeEx officio
Dominic BeaudryFirst Nations EducatorEducation2020-2026
Bev CarterDirector of Business, KTEIAnishnaabe Education Community, Education, Training, Employment, Indigenous community-at-large2014 – 2020
Rachel George (alumni)Employment
Coordinator, N’Swakamok Native Friendship Centre
OFIFC, Employment and Training, Indigenous community-at-large
2014 – 2020
Kati McCartneyBoard Chair, BestechEx officio2014 – 2020
Jeanne NaponseChair, Former Director of Operations Atikameksheng AnishnawbekIndigenous community-at-large2016-2022
Courtney NagleCISC President, Cambrian CollegeIndigenous representation from the Cambrian Indigenous Student Circle2019 – 2020
Paul PedersonBoard Vice Chair, Greater Sudbury Police ServicesEx officio2014 – 2020
Lorna SinobertEducation Dept.
Sagamok Anishnawbek
Post Secondary Student Support Worker
Anishnaabe Education Community
Indigenous community-at-large
2017 – 2023
Lisa WabegijigKinoomaadziwin Education Body, Regional Education Council Coordinator, Region 3Education and Training2018 – 2024
Support to CommitteePosition/Organization RepresentationTerm
Melanie CacciottiLiaison to the Board, Cambrian College
Alison De LuisaAVP Student and Employee Development, Cambrian College
Monique FergusonE.A. to the President, Cambrian College