Celebrating Varsity Accomplishments

Posted on Friday April 1, 2016

On Monday, March 24, 2016, Cambrian College held its 49th Annual Athletic Banquet, an event that highlights the hard work that student athletes put into their sports and their studies. The event also honours staff and coaches, who support varsity teams and help athletes achieve their best on the trails, the field, and the court.

The 36 awards presented during the banquet celebrated team and individual achievements. Cross-country runner, Emily Marcolini, was the recipient of the Female Athlete of the Year award. The Chemical Engineering student had a great season, capturing gold at the Fanshawe Invitational, the Sault Invitational, and the St. Lawrence Brockville Invitational. She went on to win gold at Provincials and bronze at Nationals.  Evan Phillips, the recipient of Male Athlete of the Year award, is a student in the Paramedic program and a key player on Cambrian’s varsity soccer team. He was named Top Goal Keeper at the OCAA East Division Championships.

Other awards were presented over the course of the evening, including:

Men’s Soccer:

Richard John - Rookie of the Year

Sheldon West - Coach’s Award

Evan Phillips - Male Athlete of the Year; MVP


Women’s Soccer:

Clarissa McArthur - Rookie of the Year

Kaitlin Houben - Coach’s Award

Tiffany Johnson - MVP



Jaqueline Robichaud - Rookie of the Year

Curtis Gallinger - Coach’s Award

Michael Kaufman - MVP

Alanna LaHay - Vern Dow Memorial Bursary


Cross Country Running:

Rebekka Aarsand - Rookie of the Year; Sudbury Masters Running Club Bursary

Joshua Murphy - Most Improved; Sudbury Masters Running Club Bursary

Emily Marcolini – Female Athlete of the year; MVP; Sudbury Masters Running Club Bursary; CCAA All-Canadian

Megan Lloyd Wismer - Sudbury Masters Running Club Bursary


Men’s Basketball:

Tristan Ritchie - Rookie of the Year

Jonathan Coppes - Most Improved

Eric Lavergne Giroux - MVP


Women’s Basketball:

Kelsie Trowbridge - Rookie of the Year

Makaila Alloway - Most Improved

Karli Marcotte - MVP; John Tymchuk Women’s Basketball Award

Emily Jocius - Mr. Nero Painting Bursary


Men’s Volleyball:

Ryan Marcotte - Rookie of the Year

Vincent Martel - Coach’s Award

Kyle Breault - O’Brien – MVP

Harry Singh - Peter Guy Memorial Bursary


Women’s Volleyball:

Toni Teale - Most Improved

Jessica Strapp - Coach’s Award

Hayley Chisholm - MVP

Sara Charlton - Coach’s Award; SIRCCCAA Academic All-Canadian

In addition, 52 student athletes were recognized with Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) all-academic awards for academic excellence.

Cambrian is very proud of its student athletes and the many coaches, members of the Cambrian Athletic Association, as well as staff, faculty, fans, and volunteers who supported them over the 2015-2016 season.

Profs, President Get Wet at Charity Carnival

Posted on Thursday March 31, 2016

Profs, President Get Wet at Charity Carnival

On Wednesday March 24, Cambrian College Public Relations students offered students a sweet treat during their mid-terms and added some extra excitement through an on-campus carnival fundraiser.

The carnival featured …

Continue reading